Site mapAbout usConsultative CommitteeAsk LibrarianContributionCopyrightCitation GuidelineDonationHome        

CatalogAuthor AuthorityGoogle
Search engineFulltextScripturesLanguage LessonsMuseumLinks
Bookmark and Share

Extra service
Traveling to the Other Shore: Buddha’s Stories on the Six Perfections
Author Xingyun ; Manzo, Tom ; Cheng, Shujan
PublisherBuddha’s Light
Publisher Url
LocationHacienda Heights, CA, US [哈仙達崗, 加利福尼亞州, 美國]
Content type書籍=Book
NoteAbout the Author
Venerable Master Hsing Yun is a Chinese Buddhist monk and a leader of the Humanistic Buddhism movement that seeks to integrate Buddhism into people s everyday lives. He is the founder of the Fo Guang Shan Buddhist Order, as well as the author of many works such as Chan Hear, Chan Art and Opening the Mind's Eye.
AbstractDrawn from the Buddhist scriptures, Traveling to the other Shore contains a treasury of stories from the life of the Buddha and his great disciples. Structured around the six perfections of generosity, discipline, patience, diligence, concentration, and wisdom, the Buddha teaches his disciples how to live out these principles in their lives, providing guidance for our own lives.
In his forty years of teaching, the Buddha left behind teachings that would last for over two millennia. In Traveling to the other Shore, Venerable Master Hsing Yun has selected key stories from the life of the Bud­dha and his great disciples that teach the Six Perfec­tions of Buddhism: giving, discipline, patience, dili­gence, concentration, and wisdom. Collected from across the vast Buddhist scriptures, these stories show both the depth of the Buddha’s wisdom and the warmth of his compassion. Traveling to the other Shore is an excellent way for readers to learn from the Buddha’s life and practice.
Table of contents[Table of Contents]

The Great Buddha
Part One: Giving Comes in Many Forms
Part Two: Sincere Offerings, Endless Merit
Part Three: Planting Seeds of Prosperity: Previous Causes and Conditions
Part Four: Being Wise and Thoughtful: Giving in a Proper Manner
Part Five: The Precepts
Part Six: The Merit of Upholding the Precepts
Part Seven: Patience
Part Eight: Diligent Effort
Part Nine: Meditation as a Path of Cultivation
Part Ten: Grounded in Wisdom and Goodness
Part Eleven: Foolish Person, Foolish Acts
Part Twelve: Open Mind, Clear Understanding
ISBN9781932293289 (pbk)
Created date2015.08.12
Modified date2015.08.12

Best viewed with Chrome, Firefox, Safari(Mac) but not supported IE


You are leaving our website for The full text resources provided by the above database or electronic journals may not be displayed due to the domain restrictions or fee-charging download problems.

Record correction

Please delete and correct directly in the form below, and click "Apply" at the bottom.
(When receiving your information, we will check and correct the mistake as soon as possible.)

Serial No.

Search History (Only show 10 bibliography limited)
Search Criteria Field Codes
Search CriteriaBrowse