Site mapAbout usConsultative CommitteeAsk LibrarianContributionCopyrightCitation GuidelineDonationHome        

CatalogAuthor AuthorityGoogle
Search engineFulltextScripturesLanguage LessonsLinks

Extra service
Essential Practice: Lectures on Kamalashila's Stages of Meditation in the Middle Way School
Author Khenchen Thrangu Rinpoche (著) ; Levinson, Jules B. (譯)
PublisherSnow Lion
Publisher Url
LocationIthaca, NY, US [伊薩卡, 紐約州, 美國]
Content type書籍=Book
NoteKhenchen Thrangu was born in Tibet in 1933. He has founded numerous monasteries and nunneries, schools for Tibetan children, and medical clinics. He has taught extensively throughout Europe, Asia, and the United States, and is the abbot of Gampo Abbey. He was appointed by the Dalai Lama to be the personal tutor for the Seventeenth Karmapa.
AbstractEssential Practice is an accessible and authoritative portrait of a bodhisattva's view, meditation, and conduct by one of the foremost masters of the Kagyu lineage of Tibetan Buddhism and the tutor of H.H. the Seventeenth Karmapa. Teaching on Kamalashila's treatises outlining the stages of meditation, Thrangu Rinpoche explains the need for compassion and the way to develop it, the necessity for a bodhisattva's vast and durable altruism, as well as the means to generate, stabilize, and fortify it and the elements key to the meditative practices of calm abiding and insight. An engaging element of Essential Practice is the lively interaction of Thrangu Rinpoche with students and members of the faculty of Naropa University as he unfolds the text for them.

With exceptional generosity, Thrangu Rinpoche took delight in fielding basic and knotty questions that were put to him by relative newcomers and relatively seasoned practitioner/scholars. This record of a masterful teacher's instructions will help students old and new to determine what is essential to the practice of Buddhism and thereby bring the Buddha's teachings into their own experience. Essential Practice presents an incomparable wisdom on the methodology and means of meditation, as well as the ways in which to bring oneself to the transcendence of selfless behavior.
Table of contentsIntroduction 1
Technical Note 4
Acknowledgements 5

Part 1: First Treatise on the Stages of Meditation 7
Chapter One: Kamalashila Compassion, and the Mind of Awakening 9
Chapter Two: Practice 19
Chapter Three: Contemplation 31
Chapter Four: Calm Abiding 43
Chapter Five: Insight 55
Chapter Six: Certainty 65
Chapter Seven: Meditative Stabilization 77
Chapter Eight: The Ten Grounds of Bodhisattvas and the Ground of a Buddha 89

Part 2: Intermediate Treatise on the Stages of Meditation 101
Chapter One: Compassion 103
Chapter Two: The Mind of Awakening and the Causes of Calm Abiding 117
Chapter Three: The Cause of Insight 131
Chapter Four: The Selflessness of Persons 143
Chapter Five: The Selflessness of Phenomena 157
Chapter Six: The Six Transcendent Actions 171
Chapter Seven: The Fruit of Realization 187

Notes 199
Glossary 205
List of Works Cited 213
ISBN9781559391818 (Paperback); 1559391812 (Paperback)
Created date2023.12.26
Modified date2023.12.26

Best viewed with Chrome, Firefox, Safari(Mac) but not supported IE


You are leaving our website for The full text resources provided by the above database or electronic journals may not be displayed due to the domain restrictions or fee-charging download problems.

Record correction

Please delete and correct directly in the form below, and click "Apply" at the bottom.
(When receiving your information, we will check and correct the mistake as soon as possible.)

Serial No.

Search History (Only show 10 bibliography limited)
Search Criteria Field Codes
Search CriteriaBrowse